20th Annual Eva Briggs Abstract Art Competition

Thursday, January 30 – Friday, February 28, 2025

at the Community Performance and Art Center (CPAC)


The Eva Briggs Abstract Art Competition is open to all SRAL members and is a judged show, which is held in February. This exhibit was established by Eva Briggs with her bequest for twenty years of prizes to SRAL in 2003. She stipulated that all artwork entered must be abstract and created on a 36″ X 36″ substrate.

Each artist may enter one piece

Reception: Friday, January 31, 2025, from 5:00 to 7:00 PM

Entry Fee: $35

Prizes: First Place – $500, Second Place – $300, Third Place – $200, plus three Honorable Mentions – $50/each, and The People’s Choice Award – $100

Entry Deadline: Wednesday, January 15, 2025

Judge: Kristin Harvey

Co-Chairs: Hugh Beykirch and Arlene Szypulski

Prospectuses (Description, Criteria, and Entry Form) are available in the Studio or Download Here

19th Annual Eva Briggs

Abstract Art Competition



First Place

Second Place

Deep Dream by Nan Lux

Divided Space by Joan Cawthorn

Third Place

Honorable Mention

Ancient Aquatic by George Shively

This, That and The Other by Layne Cook

Honorable Mention

Honorable Mention

Auspicious by Veronica Johnson

Primal Heat by Laurel Sponseller

People’s Choice Award

Crossroads 1 by Hugh Beykirch